Miscelleneous

4 Hacks to Keep to Your Writing Goals

To make a writing goal is one thing but to keep to those goals is not everyone’s cup of tea. I have been in the field of freelance writing since five years and a blogger for the past three years and there had been times when deciding my writing goals every month was kind of exciting as well as motivating. But as days passed it got difficult being determined about my writing goals and I eventually got sidetracked by other activities.

For the first two years of my blogging I had suffered tremendously in being regular with my blog posts. Also, there were times when I had trouble meeting article deadlines set by clients and eventually used to end up rushing up in the last moment which of course deteriorated the quality of my article. Finally I had to think of ways so that I remain determined about my writing goals and that’s how I have developed these 4 hacks. Since then I regularly write blog posts and never miss my client’s deadline. Many of my blogger and writer friends constantly ask me about how do I manage my writing, job and my studies altogether and still have time to go out with family and friends.

So why not I share these 4 hacks that will help every writer stay focused on their writing goals and finishes that book or article they had been working on for so long.

Hack # 1 Make a Writing Vision Board Every Month

Vision boards are usually created at the start of a new year but I recommend making one every month. This is because every month brings in a new kind of challenge and we can’t expect to live a monotonous life so how can one vision board be utilized for the whole year. It’s good to have a clear view of your years’ goals but it can be only effective if you’d break it up into months because as the famous saying goes, ‘Slow and steady wins the race.’ So you ought to take your writing goals with few steps every month.

Also, keep the size of your vision board small and fill it up with attractive pictures that symbolize your goal or write in a big size that’ll be visible enough to you even when you are standing far from it. It is ideal to keep three to four goals a month in order to remain focused.

ad1

Hack # 2 A Planner Diary is a Writer’s Best Friend

Keep a small planner diary with you at all times. This is where you will keep track of your deadlines and what tasks you need to complete on a day to day basis so that you achieve the bigger goals set on your vision board. It is ideal to have a daily planner so that you decide on your next day’s goal. Writing on a planner diary every night before going to bed is highly effective because that means your next day’s goals will be the last thing on your mind and the first when you wake up in the morning. This makes it highly likely that you will accomplish the goals for that day.

Hack # 3 Specify Your Goals

We always use short sentences when writing goals but that never really makes us take it seriously. You should really define your goals with what, when and how. For instance, instead of writing ‘Complete article tomorrow,’ you can write it as, ‘Complete the 6 Hacks article by 5 pm tomorrow.’ This will help you be more mindful about your writing goal.

Hack # 4 Plan Your Goal Loudly

This is something I do all the time, especially when there is a lot of work load and it really helps me. As I wake up every morning, the first thing I do is to take a look at my vision board and then at my daily planner. I memorize the goals for that day and visualize it. Sometimes I also say it out loud to myself. This is how I go, ‘So I am going to brush my teeth, have my breakfast and coffee and then clean my cupboard and then I will straightaway open my laptop and continue the article I left yesterday.’ Visualizing and then saying out loud helps me to complete my tasks with a flow and helps me avoid procrastination.

Staying determined about goals and being able to accomplish them with a flow is not an art but rather a habit. So you cannot expect to become regular with your writing goals in a fortnight. But you will need to remain constant in achieving your goals and each time you do so you can also reward yourself. Once you start finishing your articles before the given deadline or patiently stick to your goals you will see that your determination to complete writing goals will turn into a habit.

Appreciations for leaving your comments

